Tripura to vote on Feb 16; Nagaland & Meghalaya go to polls on Feb 27

Avatar photo
By: TNI Team
Updated: 18 January, 2023 3:37 pm IST

The Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar on Wednesday announced the dates of polling for the three North Eastern states.

Tripura will go to polls on February 16. Nagaland and Meghalaya will vote on February 27. The counting of votes will take place on March 2. The notifications for the polls will be issued on January 21 in the case of Tripura and on January 31 in the cases of Nagaland and Meghalaya.

The Election Commission announced the schedule here on Wednesday. The term of the Nagaland assembly ends on March 12, and the terms of Meghalaya and Tripura assemblies end on March 15 and March 22, respectively. In Tripura, 10 seats are reserved for SCs, and 20 for STs, while in Meghalaya and Nagaland, a total number of 55 and 59 seats are reserved for scheduled tribes respectively.

There are 60 Assembly seats in each of the states.

There are over 21 lakh voters in Meghalaya, over 13 lakh voters in Nagaland, and over 28 lakh voters in Tripura.

There are 65,000 first-time voters in Tripura, followed by 28,000 voters in Meghalaya and 24,000 in Nagaland.

There are 77 third-gender voters in Tripura, and two in Meghalaya.

The number of polling stations in Meghalaya is 3482,  Nagaland 2315, and Tripura  3328.

Currently, Meghalaya is led by the National People’s Party of Conrad Sangma. Nagaland is led by Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party led by CM Neiphiu Rio.

BJP Manik Saha is the current Chief Minister of Tripura. He recently replaced Biplab Deb as the CM of the state.


Also Read Story

West-based Khalistani nexus running online propaganda for Amritpal

EXPLOSIVE CONFESSION TAPES: Amritpal Singh’s recruits sing on drugs, arms

One-lane link road, 6-7 motorbikes: How Amritpal Singh dodged police

Amritpal on the run, wasn’t arrested; did IPS RN Dhoke botch up ops?