Kejriwal predicts ‘change’ as Gujarat records 60% voting in first phase

Avatar photo
By: TNI Team | New Delhi
Updated: 02 December, 2022 12:19 pm IST
AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal (file photo)

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) convener Arvind Kejriwal claimed to bring about “parivartan” (change) as the first phase of voting for the Gujarat Assembly elections ended on Thursday.

In a tweet, Kejriwal sought to imply that the people of the western border state voted to oust the BJP government.

“People of Gujarat, you have done a miracle today. Change,” he wrote after media reports said the state recorded a voter turnout of 60.48 per cent, 8 per cent lower than the last assembly polls.

As many as 89 assembly constituencies witnessed voting in the Saurashtra-Kutch and the south region of Gujarat on Thursday.

AAP is contesting 180 out of a total of 182 seats in the Gujarat Legislative Assembly and is being seen as the third major political power after the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress in the state.

The electoral contest in Gujarat has traditionally been between the BJP and the Congress, but the party boss Kejriwal, who is the main face of its campaign in Gujarat, has claimed to form the government in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s home state.

Last week, Kejriwal told a press conference in Surat that his predictions for the Delhi and Punjab assembly elections came true, and the same will happen in Gujarat as well.

He claimed people are so scared of the ruling BJP that they stop themselves from openly admitting that they would vote for AAP in the Gujarat Assembly elections.

“I am going to make a prediction in writing in front of you all. Note down the prediction that the AAP is going to form the government in Gujarat. After 27 years of misgovernance, the citizens of Gujarat will get relief from these people (BJP),” Kejriwal said.

He then wrote his prediction on a piece of paper and showed it to media persons. The AAP national convener asked government employees seeking the old pension scheme among other demands to help his party form government in the state.

The next and last phase of elections in 93 constituencies will take place on December 5. The counting of votes will take place on December 8.

Also Read Story

Rahul Gandhi disqualified from Lok Sabha membership

RG is not the only one: MPs, MLAs who were disqualified after conviction

Rahul gets 2 years imprisonment in ‘Modi surname’ defamation case, granted bail

Habitual loose cannon: Anurag Thakur on Rahul Gandhi