Two Days After Results, AAP Removes Security For All Ex-MLAs, Mantris; Gets Clean IAS As PS To Punjab CM

Avatar photo
By: Gopal Puri
Updated: 12 March, 2022 2:19 pm IST

CHANDIGARH: Two days after storming to power in Punjab, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) withdrew the security cover of all former legislators and former Cabinet ministers on Saturday.

Meanwhile, A. Venu Prasad, a 1991 batch IAS officer having a clean image, has been appointed the Principal Secretary to Chief Minister-elect Bhagwant Mann who will take the oath of the office on March 16.

As per a notification accessed by The New Indian, the former Cabinet Minister whose security has been withdrawn include Manpreet Singh Badal, Raj Kumar Verka, Bharat Bhushan Ashu, Brahm Mohindra, Sangat Singh Gilzian, Randeep Singh Nabha, and Razia Sultana.

CM-elect Bhagwant Mann met Govt Banwarilal Purohit

The AAP government-in-waiting has also removed the security of outgoing Assembly Speaker Rana KP Singh and Deputy Speaker Ajaib Singh Bhatti who had 13 and two security personnel guarding them.

As many as 19 policemen were deployed in the security of former minister Manpreet Singh Badal, 11 security personnel for Raj Kumar Verka, 16 for Ashu, 14 for Mohindra, 15 each for Gilzian and Randeep Singh Nabha, and four personnel for Razia Sultana.

On Saturday, CM-elect Bhagwant Mann called on Governor Banwarilal Purohit and presented his claim to form the next government in Punjab.

The AAP won 92 out of 117 assembly constituencies in the states which borders Pakistan, defeating several ministers of the ruling Congress party, and crushing the dream of Sukhbir Singh Badal-led Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) to make a comeback in the polls.

Here is a list of the former legislators and ministers whose security cover has been withdrawn:


Also Read Story

Rahul Gandhi disqualified from Lok Sabha membership

RG is not the only one: MPs, MLAs who were disqualified after conviction

Rahul gets 2 years imprisonment in ‘Modi surname’ defamation case, granted bail

Habitual loose cannon: Anurag Thakur on Rahul Gandhi