TMC MPs To Knock EC Doors Over Tripura Pre-Poll Violence

Avatar photo
By: Joymala Bagchi
Updated: June 16, 2022 12:51
Representative image


NEW DELHI: A delegation of Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress (TMC) is scheduled to meet Election Commission of India (ECI) officials here on Thursday over the issue of political violence in run-up to bypolls in Tripura.

A delegation of six-party MPs will visit the ECI office to submit a memorandum in connection with the horrific violence in Tripura unleashed by “BJP-sponsored goons, a party source told The New Indian.


TMC MPs Saugata Roy, Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar, Jawhar Sircar, Pratima Mondal, Luizinho Faleiro and actress-politician Nusrat Jahan Ruhi will meets the ECI officials.

ALSO READ: Presidential Poll: TMC Supremo Meets NCP Chief

TMC has alleged that the ruling BJP has unleased violence in Tripura in four Assembly segments where bypolls slated to be held on June 23.

The four Assembly constituencies where the byelections are slated to be held are Agartala, Town Bordowali, Surma and Yubrajnagar.

Communist Party of India (Marxist) has also accused BJP supported “hooligans” of stoking pre-poll violence in different parts of Tripura since the announcement of the bypolls last month.


Also Read Story

Gujarat Polls: Gir Safari employees share lion-size wish for tourism income

Gujarat’s Amul marvel: Embryo transplant, sex sorted semen, digital band pushing dairy biz

Gujarat Polls: Narmada water reaches Kutch; has it changed people’s lives?

Gujarat polls: 21 years after earthquake, Modi is still saviour in Bhuj