Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, George Fernandes Awarded Padma Vibhushan Posthumously; Kangana Ranaut, Adnan Sami & Others Honoured With Padma Shri

| Updated : November 8, 2021, 4:56 pm
Updated : November 8, 2021, 4:56 pm


President Ram Nath Kovind confers Padma awards in Rashtrapati Bhavan

NEW DELHI: President Ram Nath Kovind on Monday presented Padma Awards at the Rashtrapati Bhawan.

Former External Affairs Minister Late Sushma Swaraj, actor Kangana Ranaut, Olympian badminton player PV Sindhu were among the prominent personalities who were honoured with the Padma awards by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Sushma Swaraj, who passed away in 2019 due to a cardiac arrest, was awarded the Padma Vibhushan award posthumously. Her daughter Bansuri Swaraj accepted the highest civilian award presented by the president. Also Read: ED Summons Ex-Maha HM Anil Deshmukh’s Son In Money Laundering Probe


Late BJP stalwart Arun Jaitley also received the Padma Vibhushan posthumously. The former finance minister’s award was presented to his wife Sangeeta.

The President Ram Nath Kovind also presented the Padma Shri Award to Rani Rampal, captain of the women’s hockey team Rani Rampal. Singer Adnan Sami received the Padma Shri Award 2020. Also Read & Watch: “Once Berated Rani For Wearing Shorts; Would Not Force Her To Marry Early”

Renowned Hindustani classical singer, Pandit Chhannulal Mishra, also received the Padma Vibhushan award 2020.

Bollywood director Karan Johar and late singer SP Balasubhramanyam are also among the awardees.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Union External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar were among the attendees.

The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honours of India and are conferred in three categories: Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service), Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher order) and Padma Shri (distinguished service). Also Read: In Punjab, Sidhu vs CM Round 2 Begins Over Advocate General

President Ram Nath Kovind will confer 119 Padma Awards this year. The list includes seven Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri Awards.

Do visit for exclusive video stories from hinterlands of India.