SP Fields Maurya, 3 Others For UP LC elections

Avatar photo
By: Anand Singh
Updated: 08 June, 2022 9:08 pm IST
Akhilesh Yadav with party leaders during filing of nomination papers

LUCKNOW: The Samajwadi Party has fielded former Minister Swami Prasad Maurya and three other leaders for the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council (LC) elections.

All the four leaders filed their nomination papers on Wednesday in presence of Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav for the Legislative Council elections scheduled on June 20.

Besides Akhilesh Yadav, party MLA Abdullah Azam and other party leaders were present when the party candidates filed their nominations.

Maurya had joined the Samajwadi Party ahead of the assembly elections in the state last year and contested unsuccessfully from the Fazilnagar seat earlier this year.

The party has also fielded former MLA Sobaran Singh Yadav’s son Mukul Yadav. Sobaran Singh Yadav was elected as an MLA from the Karhal assembly seat in the Mainpuri district of the state and he vacated his seat for Akhilesh Yadav in this year’s assembly polls. So by fielding Mukul Yadav, the party has thanked Sobran Singh Yadav.

The party has also fielded two Muslim leaders – Jasmir Ansari and Shahnawaz Khan.

Earlier, there was speculation that Imran Masood, who joined the Samajwadi Party after leaving the Congress ahead of the assembly elections, might be fielded.

Even it was speculated that Arvind Rajbhar, son of Suheldev Samaj Party chief OP Rajbhar, will also be considered for the Legislative Council elections.

The last date for filing nominations is June 9 and that for withdrawal of nominations is June 13. Scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on June 10. If needed, voting will be held on June 20 between 9 am and 4 pm. Results will be declared the same day.

As per the current strength, the Samajwadi Party can win four while the ruling BJP can win nine seats as 13 seats are going to fall vacant.

Also Read Story

EXC: He touched my breast, airline crew who was molested at Looks salon says in FIR

President Droupadi Murmu to inaugurate ‘Amrit Udyan’

Kashmiri separatist group Hurriyat’s Srinagar office to be attached

Two fighter jets crash near MP’s Morena after suspected collision