Sharad Yadav’s LJD To Merge With Lalu’s RJD

Avatar photo
By: Anand Singh
Updated: 19 March, 2022 7:03 pm IST
RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav recently met LJD chief Sharad Yadav at his residence in New Delhi.


PATNA: Senior leader Sharad Yadav has announced to merge his Loktantrik Janata Dal (LJD), which he floated after leaving JD(U) almost five years back, with Lalu Prasad Yadav-led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), the main Opposition party in Bihar.

In a tweet, Sharad Yadav said the merge is part of his efforts to unite various offshoots of the erstwhile Janata Dal to take on the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

“Establishing a strong opposition in the country is the need of the hour. I have been working to unite not only the erstwhile Janata Dal but also other like-minded parties. Hence, I have decided to merge my party LJD with RJD,” he said.

A formal announcement will be made at his residence in presence of RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav on Sunday.

Yadav had unsuccessfully contested against Lalu’s RJD in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections from Madhepura parliamentary constituency. His daughter Subhashini Raj Rao also contested the 2020 Bihar Assembly elections as a Congress candidate from Bihariganj assembly seat but faced defeat.

Recently, Yadav told media persons that the merger was “unavoidable” to bring the Janata parivar together in order to dethrone the BJP which, he said, has failed to meet the expectations of people in the country.

The LJD was formed in 2017 after Yadav along with several other leaders parted way with Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, who heads the Janata Dal (United), following the latter’s decision to snap ties with the RJD and the Congress to join hands with the BJP.

Kumar’s JD(U) had stitched an alliance with the RJD and the Congress, the Mahagathbandhan or the Grand Alliance, ahead of the 2015 assembly election. In 2013, Nitish Kumar walked out of his party’s 17-year-old alliance with the BJP after Narendra Modi was appointed as the Chairman of BJP’s Lok Sabha election campaign committee.

Also Read Story

Rahul Gandhi disqualified from Lok Sabha membership

RG is not the only one: MPs, MLAs who were disqualified after conviction

Rahul gets 2 years imprisonment in ‘Modi surname’ defamation case, granted bail

Habitual loose cannon: Anurag Thakur on Rahul Gandhi