New Bengal Ministers Take Oath; Supriyo Gets IT & Tourism 

Avatar photo
By: Joymala Bagchi
Updated: 04 August, 2022 7:32 am IST

KOLKATA: Mamata Banerjee-led Bengal government on Wednesday inducted nine new faces including famous singer Babul Supriyo into the cabinet.

The new ministers were sworn in at Raj Bhavan.

Among the prominent names, Supriyo gets the IT and Tourism ministry while Snehasis Chakraborty gets the transport ministry.

Pradip Majumder was allotted the department of panchayat and rural development.

Later in the day, CM Banerjee tweeted, “I wholeheartedly congratulate all newly appointed Ministers (MIC, MoS independent charge & MoS). Keeping Bengal’s progress & prosperity in mind, may you take each of your departments to greater heights!”

The move came days after Enforcement Directorate (ED) took powerful Trinamool Congress minister Partha Chatterjee under its custody following his alleged involvement in the multi-crore SSC recruitment scam.

The distribution of portfolios showed that it was Chatterjee’s four key ministries which were divided among Supriyo, Sashi Panja and Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay.

Chatterjee was earlier relieved of his responsibilities including industry, commerce and enterprises, Information Technology and Parliamentary Affairs after being accused of the SSC recruitment scam.

Also Read Story

Rahul Gandhi disqualified from Lok Sabha membership

RG is not the only one: MPs, MLAs who were disqualified after conviction

Rahul gets 2 years imprisonment in ‘Modi surname’ defamation case, granted bail

Habitual loose cannon: Anurag Thakur on Rahul Gandhi