MCD Polls: 188 Congress candidates lose deposit; Delhi Muslims reject AIMIM

Avatar photo
By: Akshay Razdan
Updated: 07 December, 2022 10:42 pm IST

Congress party failed miserably in the high-stake Delhi MCD polls, with a total of 188 candidates losing their deposit. Unable to cross the single digit mark, Congress won only 9 seats in comparison to 30 seats scored in 2017 MCD elections. Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) fielded 128 candidates who failed to win a single seat. ‘Muslim-friendly’ AIMIM failed to impress the Muslim community having a vote share of a mere 0.62%, even less than NOTA (0.78%). 

Meanwhile, Aam Aadmi Party pulled a decisive victory in Delhi Municipal elections by defeating Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) who were at the helm for 15 years straight.

As the results poured in, AAP’s victory became apparent. By the end of counting, AAP secured 134 seats while BJP came second with 104 seats. 

As the trends indicated AAP’s win earlier today, supporters came out in droves to celebrate the party’s victory. 

AAP made a long jump winning 134 seats in contrast to 2017 MCD elections when it had won only 48 seats.  BJP which grabbed a lion’s share in previous elections winning 181 seats was humbled by Aam Aadmi Party this time around, limiting them to 104 seats. There are a total of 250 wards in Delhi Municipal Corporation covering an area of 1,397.3 km². 

Over 73 lakh votes were cast during the polls held on December 4, 2022. Over 80 percent of votes polled was shared between BJP and AAP  with other players remaining insignificant in this MCD elections.

AAP secured 42.05 percent votes while BJP was able to gather 39.09 percent of the total number of votes with a difference of only 2.96 percent points between the two rivals.

The total number of MCD wards in Delhi was reduced from 272 to 250 following a notification from the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA). In May this year, the Centre unified the three corporations into one. Of the total 250 wards, 42 are reserved.

The highest win margin was recorded from Chandni Mahal ward where AAP’s Aaley Mohd Iqbal defeated Congress’ Mohd Hamid by 17,134 votes. In CR Park, AAP’s Ashu Thakkar defeated BJP’s Kanchan Choudhary with a small margin of 44 votes. 

Also Read Story

Amritpal fallout: Pro-Khalistan Twitter accounts blocked

West-based Khalistani nexus running online propaganda for Amritpal

EXPLOSIVE CONFESSION TAPES: Amritpal Singh’s recruits sing on drugs, arms

One-lane link road, 6-7 motorbikes: How Amritpal Singh dodged police