Kanpur Police Commissioner, 1994- Batch IPS, Takes VRS To Join BJP, Creates Sensation In Police HQ

By: Rohan Dua | Pramod Kumar Singh
Updated: January 8, 2022 19:32

KANPUR/LUCKNOW: Asim Arun, a 1994-batch Indian Police Services (IPS) officer, who was untill Saturday holding post of Kanpur Police commissioner has resigned from services, opting for voluntary retirement scheme (VRS), to join the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) in Uttar Pradesh.

“I feel its a matter of privilege that I have chosen to opt my rest of life towards nation and welfare of people. I always feel honoured that CM Yogi Adityanath has given me membership of BJP,” Arun told The New Indian.

Arun, a 1992-batch St Stephen’s alumnus, had held key posts in Uttar Pradesh police, handling its 112 Police service, anti terrorism squad (ATS).

Arun was one of the instrumental officers who busted the first Indian ISIS module in Uttar Pradesh when he personally supervised the operation in March 2017, just ahead of elections that year.

“I will try to use my experience in policing in my current role and responsibility in my family, that is BJP,” said Arun.

BJP said that it has always welcomed men and women with illustrious careers, from all walks of life.

“This is the party which has changed the criterion of awarding Padma Shris to Padma Bhushans. Our party will be strengthened by presence of a man of his credentials. We will be happy if he contests on  BJP ticket and win too. Although his candidature will be decided by election and ticket distribution committee of the BJP,” BJP Uttar Pradesh president Swatantra Dev told The New Indian.

He regretted that he will never be able to wear his uniform again but insisted that he would fight for welfare of policemen.

Uttar Pradesh ADGP Prashant Kumar confirmed the development.

This is not the first instance where a sitting IPS or IAS has joined a political party in the last ten years alone.

Earlier this year, Punjab Police  IG Kunwar Vijay Pratap Singh, a 1997-batch IPS, who was part of the SIT probing the 2015 Kotkapura police firing incident in Punjab, joined Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

In September 2020, then Bihar DGP Gupteshwar Pandey, a 1987 batch IPS officer, had taken VRS. He was to retire in February 2021. Earlier in 2009 too, he had taken VRS from services to contest the Lok Sabha poll but when he failed to get the ticket at the last minute, he was controversially reinstated in the services after nine months.

Former Punjab DGP PS Gill had first SAD in 2012, then BJP in  2014.

Also Read Story

A Key Visit of Home Minister To J&K

Manish Sisodia Writes To LG Demanding CBI Probe Into MCD Scam

India To Use Hotline If China Violates Airspace: IAF Chief

Development, Youth In Focus; Muftis, Abdullahs On Target At Shah’s Kashmir Rally