Getting The Poll Fix Right: SP Finalises Seat Sharing With Smaller Parties Ahead Of UP Polls

Avatar photo
By: Anand Singh
Updated: 12 January, 2022 5:53 pm IST

LUCKNOW: With just few days left to go to polls, the Samajwadi Party (SP) has formalised seat sharing with Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (PSP), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and the Trinamool Congress (TMC).

According to party sources, Shivpak Singh Yadav led PSP, which announced poll alliance with Akhilesh Yadav-led SP has been given six seats.

Shivpal Singh Yadav had floated his own party after a tussle with Akhilesh Yadqv ahead of 2017 assembly polls in the state.

The source said that Shivpal Singh Yadav has been offered the assembly seats of Gunnaur, Jaswantnagar, Bhojpur, Jasrana, Mubarajpur and Ghazipur.

The source also said that Shivpal Singh Yadav may contest from Gunnaur while his son Aditya Yadav may contest from Jaswantnagar assembly seat.

The source further said that the party has decided to give one seat to the Sharad Pawar-led NCP from Bulandhshar’s Anupshahr assembly seat with KK Sharma as its candidate.

The source claimed that the SP has also given one seat in Mirzapur’s Madihan to TMC leader Laliteshpati Tripathi.

The SP has also finalised the seat to Apna Dal led by Krishna Patel, the source said.

The SP has announced alliance with smaller parties for the 2022 assembly assembly elections in the state.

In 2017, the party had joined hands with the Congress and suffered a massive jolt in the elections.

The Election Commission on Saturday announced seven phase polls for 403 member assembly in the state from February 10 to March 7. Counting of votes will take place on March 10.

The ruling BJP is eyeing a comeback with second consecutive term in the state while the SP, Bahujan Samaj Party and Congress are trying their best to regain rheir ground in the state.

Also Read Story

TNI View | India’s humanitarian aid to Turkey morally right

‘Thank you Dost’: Earthquake-hit Turkey thanks India

TMC forces me out of Kolkata Book Fair: Author Tuhin A Sinha

India dispatches relief assistance to earthquake-hit Turkey