G20 Bilaterals: PM Modi Gifts Sunak Gujarati Handmade Textile Mata Ni Pachedi

Avatar photo
By: TNI Team
Updated: November 16, 2022 18:29

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his British counterpart Rishi Sunak met at the G20 Summit in Bali, Indonesia today.

The leaders agreed on the enduring importance of the UK India relationship, and of the living bridge between our countries. The Prime Minister passed on his thanks to Prime Minister Modi for the overwhelming response of the Indian people to his appointment as Prime Minister.

The leaders discussed the range of areas where the UK and India are working increasingly closely and have the opportunity to further develop our links, including defence and security.


They looked forward to the agreement of a UK-Indo free trade deal which has the potential to unlock investment and increase jobs in both our countries, as well as expanding our deep cultural links.

The Prime Minister and Prime Minister Modi agreed that the UK and India’s shared values, not least our commitment to democracy, are a huge asset in international forums like the G20 and the Commonwealth

The Prime Minister welcomed the opportunity to work together on challenges like ending the war in Ukraine and tackling climate change


The Prime Minister gifted Sunak Mata Ni Pachedi.

It is a handmade textile of Gujarat and an offering in temple shrines which house Mother Goddess. The name is derived from Gujarati words ‘Mata’ meaning ‘mother goddess’, ‘Ni’ meaning ‘belonging to’ & ‘Pachedi’ meaning ‘backdrop’.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday took the baton of G20 presidency from Indonesian President Joko Widodo on Wednesday.

“India will strive to take forward Indonesia’s commendable initiatives during its G-20 Presidency. It is a very auspicious coincidence for India that we are assuming the responsibility of G-20 Presidency in this holy island of Bali. India and Bali have an age old relationship,” Modi said.

The members of the G20 are: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States, and the European Union.


Also Read Story

Twitter plans update that’ll let users know if they’ve been shadow-banned

PM Modi indirectly attacks AAP; says country must be wary of ‘neutral’ forces

How Congress bigwigs dislodged BJP to continue Himachal’s ‘riwaz’

Meet 5 AAP soldiers who raised victory flag in Gujarat