Dhawan Named ODI Captain For WI Series; Rohit, Kohli Rested

Avatar photo
By: TNI Team
Updated: 06 July, 2022 5:47 pm IST
Shikhar Dhawan to lead India in West Indies series

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday announced the squad for the ODIs against the West Indies. The left-handed batsman, Shikhar Dhawan, has been named the captain of the team. The all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja was chosen as his deputy for the series.

Dhawan captained India’s ODI side last year as well, against Sri Lanka, and won the series 2-1. So far, India has had seven captains across formats.

Famous names like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, and Hardik Pandya have been rested for the three-match series in the Caribbean later this year. All three ODIs will be played at Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain.

KL Rahul, who recently underwent surgery for a groin injury, hasn’t been considered. Deepak Chahar and Kuldeep Yadav are also recovering from injuries, hence they haven’t been selected.

Shubman Gill and Sanju Samson have made comebacks in the ODI squad.

Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur are the four seamers drafted into the squad, while Yuzvendra Chahal, Jadeja and Axar Patel are selected to lead the spin department.

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Avesh Khan are two uncapped players who haven’t played any ODI yet, while the all-rounder Deepak Hooda has featured in just two ODIs.

The three ODIs will be followed by five T20Is.

TEAM: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (vc), Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh

Also Read Story

EXC: He touched my breast, airline crew who was molested at Looks salon says in FIR

President Droupadi Murmu to inaugurate ‘Amrit Udyan’

Kashmiri separatist group Hurriyat’s Srinagar office to be attached

Two fighter jets crash near MP’s Morena after suspected collision