Days After Resigning From BJP, SP Maurya, Dharam Singh Saini Joins Samajwadi Party Minus Dara Singh Chauhan

Avatar photo
By: Anand Singh
Updated: 14 January, 2022 5:12 pm IST

LUCKNOW: Not even a month to go to polls, and the political scene in Uttar Pradesh is undergoing a massive change. Disgruntled members of parties are opting out of existing setups and making a beeline for greener pastures.

Days after several BJP ministers and MLAs resigned, most have subsequently joined Samajwadi Party (SP). Among those who joined Samajwadi Party are Swami Prasad Maurya and Dharam Singh Saini.

On Friday, SP supremo and former Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav took these leaders into the party fold. BJP Minister Dara Singh Chauhan who also resigned from his post, however, was absent from the press conference by Akhikesh Yadav.

About 25 former MLAs have joined the party ahead of crucial assembly polls, including MLAs Bhagwati Sagar, Vinay Shakya, Roshanlal Verma, Mukesh Verma, Brajesh Kumar Prajapati, Chaudhary Amar Singh, former MLA Ali Yusuf Ali and former MLA Ramved Bharti.

Most of these leaders have cited their discontentment with the ruling party over the neglect of Dalits and oppressed in the state as the reason to quit BJP.

The Samajwadi Party is contesting the 2022 assembly polls in alliance with Jayant Chaudhary led Rashtriya Lok Dal and several other small parties.

The Samajwadi Party-led alliance on Thursday announced its first list for 29 seats going to polls in first phase. The Uttar Pradesh will witness a seven phase polls from February 10 to March 7 and counting of votes will take place on March 10.

Also Read Story

War of words between BJP, AAP before Delhi Mayor election today

Ella Foundation, US varsity to set up research center for new vaccines

Covaxin maker Dr Krishna Ella defends Brand India over drug quality

Dr Ella suggests merger of state, central drug bodies for standardization