BJP National Executive Meeting: JP Nadda to continue as party president

BJP will fight the 2024 general election under Jagat Prakash Nadda, says Union Home minister Amit Shah

Avatar photo
Updated: 17 January, 2023 5:11 pm IST

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has decided to maintain the status quo in party leadership in the run-up to the general elections in 2024.

On the second day of its two-day National Executive Meeting in New Delhi, Union Home minister Amit Shah announced that incumbent Jagat Prakash Nadda will continue as the party president till June 2024.

The extension means the BJP will fight the general elections under Nadda. The tenure of the Lok Sabha is scheduled to end on June 16, 2024.

The extension granted to the sitting BJP president by the party’s national executive is intended to ensure continuity. A new president would have meant total rejig. Nadda has been given the onerous task to taking party to the podium finish in 2024 Lok Sabha polls, being billed as mother of all battles.

“We have some good news to share. The National Executive has proposed JP Nadda today. (Union Defence minister) Rajnath Singh has kept this proposal. All BJP members have accepted it. JP Nadda’s term as BJP President is being extended till June 2024,” HM Shah, a former BJP president himself, said on January 17.

“I am confident that under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the party’s national president, JP Nadda, the BJP will win in 2024 with an even bigger majority,” HM Shah said, adding, “Once again, Narendra Modi will lead the country as PM.”

Nadda was appointed as the BJP’s working president on June 17, 2019, soon after the Lok Sabha elections. The 62-year-old officially took over as the BJP president on January 20, 2020. He was scheduled to have a three-year term, which ends on January 20, 2023.

Though he was born in Patna, Bihar, Nadda traces his roots to Himachal Pradesh, where he has been active in politics and is a Rajya Sabha member from Himachal Pradesh.

Nadda was first elected to the Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly from Bilaspur in 1993 and won again in 1998. He served as the state minister for forest, environment, science, and technology from 2008 to 2010, in Prem Kumar Dhumal’s cabinet.

In 2012, Nadda was elected to the Rajya Sabha from Himachal and went on to be inducted into Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s cabinet in 2014 as the Health minister. He succeeded Amit Shah as the party president after the incumbent Home minister relinquished the charge in line with the BJP’s one-person-one post norm.

Also Read Story

‘Thank you Dost’: Earthquake-hit Turkey thanks India

TNI Editorial | Musharraf doesn’t deserve India’s misty-eyed goodbyes

India dispatches relief assistance to earthquake-hit Turkey

Former Israel PM secured protection for Zelensky from Putin