Goa records massive 76.75% voter turnout in assembly polls

Avatar photo
By: Neelabh Bafna
Updated: 14 February, 2022 4:24 pm IST

The coastal state of Goa has recorded a heavy voting turnout at 76.75%, across 40 constituencies of 2 districts and 12 talukas.  BJP CM candidate and incumbent CM Pramod Sawant is contesting from this seat in Sanquelim.

AAP CM candidate Amit Palekar cast his vote from the St Cruz constituency from where he is contesting.

Over 11 lakh voters are choosing their representatives for the 40-member state assembly. 301 candidates are battling for 40 seats in the fray. The number is 50 more than the 2017 assembly elections.

INC veteran and former Chief Minister of Goa, Digambar Kamat is contesting from Margao assembly seat.

The INC manifesto 2022 promises to make Goa serene, cultured, balanced, enlightened, affluent, well-governed, and happy. TMC manifesto is giving a boost to Goa’s GDP size to 1.8 lakh crores (from 0.71 lakh crores), with an annual per capita income of more than 11 lakhs. While BJP has promised stable housing and a carbon-neutral state for all. Delhi’s deputy CM Manish Sisodia unveiled Goa’s manifesto and propositioned 3 P(s):  ‘Progress, Preservation, and Prosperity.’


Also Read Story

Rahul Gandhi disqualified from Lok Sabha membership

RG is not the only one: MPs, MLAs who were disqualified after conviction

Rahul gets 2 years imprisonment in ‘Modi surname’ defamation case, granted bail

Habitual loose cannon: Anurag Thakur on Rahul Gandhi